History ETCMA


ETCMA was formed in 2002 as a forum for Professional Associations and Registers of Traditional Chinese Medicine inclusive of Acupuncture, Herbal Medicine and TuiNa. When the ETCMA was formed it was agreed to be solely for Professional Bodies. It is now the largest organisation representing professional TCM associations in Europe.

Initially it had 4 founding member organisations: AGTCM (Germany), BAcC (United Kingdom), EUFOM (Belgium) and NVA (Netherlands) which were represented by Nils von Below, Jasmine Uddin, Johan Roose and Albert de Vos. Its inaugural President was Jasmine Uddin. She served as President for twelve years, followed by Albert de Vos. The Executive Committee currently consists of 9 members. In 2017 Gerd Ohmstede was elected President. The ETMCA has grown considerably in this time and now represents over 30 organisations from over 20 different European countries. The ETCMA receives new membership applications each year.

ETCMA Aims and Objectives are outlined in its Memorandum and Articles of Association (referred to as Mems). The Original Mems were reviewed and altered in 2007. As there has been such rapid growth of the organisation particularly over the last 8 years, the ETCMA has undergone two external reviews. As a result of this the ETCMA is undergoing a restructuring programme and a revised Mems.


Member Login

Please login to acces the ETCMA Members functionalities

Forgot your password?